2012 Gratitude/Accomplishment List: #50BookPledge 2012 Completed!

“I give thanks to you, O Lord my God, with my whole heart, and I will glorify your name forever.”  (Psalms 86:12 NRSV)

“I give thanks to you, O Lord my God, with my whole heart, and I will glorify your name forever.” (Psalms 86:12 NRSV)

Since the year 2012 is ending in a few more days, I thought I’d make a few blog entries about the things I’m thankful for and the things I’m proud of for the year 2012. I think that counting the blessings you received during the year and the accomplishments you worked hard for is a good way to end the year; it helps us appreciate everything that happened to us during the year. Wouldn’t you agree? 🙂

I also think that it’s a good way to start the upcoming year. If we come into the new year with positive attitudes and open hearts, I know that the new year will turn out to be a great one for us. 🙂

50 Book Pledge 2012 Completed!

50 Book Pledge 2012 Completed!

To start off, I’m very proud to announce that I was able to complete my #50bookpledge for 2012! *round of applause*

Honestly, I was in danger of not being able to finish. The first reason was that I started the pledge late. I started around the 3rd week of January which meant I was already behind by 2 weeks. Still, I’m usually a pretty quick reader so I figured it wouldn’t be that difficult for me to catch up. I was able to catch up (and actually be ahead by 4 books) but then work suddenly piled up and I stopped reading books for 3 whole months. That’s 12 weeks to catch up on. I did read a bit of manga during that time but I didn’t include manga as part of the pledge.

When I was finally able to start reading books again, I resigned myself to the fact that I might not be able to finish the 50 books. I still wanted to continue the pledge, so I shortened my list to 25 books. I had no idea what came over me during that time though because in around 2 weeks, I was able to finish 12 books. That’s roughly a book a day. Which was awesome because it meant that instead of being behind by 8 books, I was able to be ahead by 8 books again in just 2 months time.

Unfortunately, work issues slowed my reading pace again. Thankfully, by the time December rolled around, I only had one more book to finish. It took me three weeks though to be able to finish the whole book. I think I read the last book once or twice per week and only a few chapters at a time so it was quite a slow read (at least for me).

Still, I was able to finish my #50bookpledge and that is really something to both be grateful for and to be proud of. I really love reading and it’s sad that I haven’t been reading as much the past few years. This exercise refuelled not only my passion for reading but also my love for writing. I’m so glad I decided to do this. 🙂

Anyway, that’s all for today. I’mma be going now as I still have work tomorrow morning.

Later dear readers! (^^)/~~

♥ Niece

Leave a Reply

