The Magic is About to End: Goodbye Merlin

In Comes the End

In Comes the End
(Image taken from http://cranberryaww.tumblr.com)

“From the beginning this was always going to be a five year journey that we embarked on and I think the show has run its natural course. The show has grown and grown each year and now we’ve arrived at its strongest point and we’ve achieved what we set out to do… I know this is the end, and I know this is goodbye, but thank you for being there on the journey with us because it has been a lot of fun!” — Colin Morgan (Merlin)

It was just announced yesterday that Merlin, one of my favorite TV series, is officially ending after Season 5. There’s five episodes left for this season with a special two part season and series finale to be aired sometime near Christmas. I’ve been with this fandom from the start and I can’t believe five years have already gone by. It feels like less. According to the writers and the cast, the series was really only slated for five seasons. Either way, I’m not ready to say goodbye.

On a not-totally-random side note, it was also announced yesterday that the premiere of the third season of Sherlock will be pushed to a later 2013 date. As if it wasn’t already a long enough wait for the Sherlock fandom. This along with the Merlin news has the different Tumblr fandoms in a hubbub.

Colin Morgan at Comic Con

Boom!

“The Merlin years have provided me with fond memories, great experiences and beloved friends and all the while we were supported by a devoted fan base who made the show a unique, surreal and special experience. My words won’t do justice to the honour of being King Arthur so I shall just say that it has been an exceptional one and that knowing the show has been a part of so many people’s lives, has been humbling.” — Bradley James (Arthur)

I’m definitely going to miss Merlin. I just love how all of the characters have progressed. If you’ve been watching every episode since the start of the show until now, I’m sure you’ve seen the development of each character; how Arthur came to be known as a great king, how Morgana became evil, and how Merlin developed, not just as a magician, but also as the invisible support to Arthur’s greatness. We all know the Arthurian legends (many though they are), but of course, since they’re legends, we don’t really know how everyone became who they are. I definitely think that the BBC One adaptation did a really good job with their interpretation of the Arthurian legend.

Bradley James and Colin Morgan.

Two-thumbs up courtesy of Bradley.

“I have always said the success of the show has stemmed from our audience being able to relate to the characters on different levels – being based on the universally loved Arthurian legend is only a tiny part of its success – it’s a story about acceptance and growing up. The breathtaking finale of this series leaves you with no doubt that characters have been on their journeys and had their stories told – it’s completely the right time to draw our telling of the story to a close.” — Katie McGrath (Morgana)

I’d really love for Merlin to continue on but if they planned for the story to only be this long, then I guess I can’t complain. I just hope that they’ll be able to cram everything that needs to be crammed in the next five episodes. After all, the big reveal hasn’t happened yet and I hope that the big reveal actually happens or doesn’t happen at the very last second.. Also, I’m wondering how they’re going to end the series. We know that Arthur dies at the hands of Mordred in the Arthurian legends. Do they plan on killing Arthur? Even though I don’t want that to happen, at least I’m prepared for when it happens (if it does happen).

I really hope the story isn’t forced or rushed because they’re ending the series. I also hope that it doesn’t end in a really frustrating cliffhanger (of Reichenbach proportions). If they’re forced to rush the story, then they’d probably be better off doing a shortened season just to tie up all loose ends, kind of like what they did / they’re doing with Gossip Girl.

Arthur and Merlin

Arthur and Merlin

“It has been a very special and memorable five years makingMerlin. I feel extremely proud to have been part of such a brilliant show and such a great team. I think we’ve told the story we set out to tell, which ends with the fantastic two part finale by the way!  I believe the key to any successful show is making sure you leave people wanting more!” — Angel Coulby (Gwen)

The Merlin cast gave their statements regarding the series’ end (the quotes you’ve seen peppered around this post). If I didn’t believe the news about the ending of the show before that, I can’t deny it now. After all, the cast themselves are saying that the series will end. It’s sad but at least Merlin ending is on a good note. It’s not like they’ve reached a point where people are saying “END ALREADY!” In fact, it’s the opposite. And if I were part of the production, I’d really be happy for that. I’d rather end with fans still loving the fandom than pushing the series too far and having the fans hate the fandom.

Goodbye Merlin

Goodbye Merlin

As much as I don’t want to part with Merlin yet, I’m happy that I got into the fandom. It’s provided me with fond memories and I know that Merlin will always be in my heart. Just like how Harry Potter is always in my heart even though the book (and the movies) have ended. The lessons Merlin and Arthur have taught through the telling of their story will stay with me. I don’t want the series the end but I’m definitely looking forward to the last five episodes. I just know they’ll be awesome.

Anyway, time for me to go. Until next time dear readers. (^^)/~~

♥ Niece

2 thoughts on “The Magic is About to End: Goodbye Merlin

  1. Are you based in the UK? You may know they are actually showing the first series from the beginning (started at 7pm yesterday Greenwich Mean Time) on BBC3 i.e it was shown on 05.01.2013. I only started following the “Merlin” story as in the BBC version in season 5 so I’ve got a lot of catching up to do. I didn’t want to watch it before as I thought I would not like it because it differed from the version I was used to (I first read it in “King Arthur and his Knight of the Round Table” [Puffin Books] by Roger Lancelyn Green when I was a kid. I did wonder about a mixed-race Guinevere – but I guess it’s possible because the “Dark Ages” would not be that long after the Roman Legions withdrew from Britain and there were soldiers from all over the Roman Empire in the army and I suppose there would be sailors of all nationalities on boats trading with Britain. In the version of the legend I knew Morgana and Arthur were reconciled at the end and she was one of the Queens who rowed him over to Avalon. Also in the Medieval long poem by Chretien de Troyes “Yvain”, Morgana is mentioned as a good lady, a healer. Sorry if I’m telling you stuff you already know. I don’t know all the Arthurian legends, there are so many, so I’m not quite sure when Morgana became a baddy!

    • Hi Patricia,

      Actually, no. I’m not based in the UK. I’m from the Philippines and they’re actually showing Merlin in one of the cable channels available here. Which is awesome because I’m still able to (re-)watch the 5th season of Merlin.

      There are a lot of versions of the Arthurian legend. In most of the Arthurian legends I’ve read, Morgana was usually one of the antagonists in the story. There’s one version where she’s the lady of the lake. There’s another where she’s Arthur’s aunt. I don’t know which of all the versions of the legend is correct either. There’s so many, it’s confusing. 😛

Leave a Reply

