#50BookPledge Book 24: The Selection by Kiera Cass

The Selection by Kiera Cass

The Selection by Kiera Cass

“…true love is usually the most inconvenient kind.”

– America Singer

I picked Kiera Cass’ The Selection as book 24 of my #50bookpledge. I discovered it through one of the fashion bloggers I follow, Crissey, who tweeted about the book. The Selection, according to most of the blurbs I read on the internet, is a cross between The Hunger Games and The Bachelor. Yes, it’s weird, which is why I wouldn’t use that to describe it. It does have elements taken from The Bachelor (basically the premise: girls competing for the heart of the bachelor) and from The Hunger Games (the caste system and having each caste in charge of a certain job) but I don’t think the book is simply a cross between the two.

Anyway, here is the synopsis of the book from GoodReads:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself- and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

“But you should know that love can wear away under the stress of being married… Love doesn’t always survive under those circumstances.”

– Shalom Singer

Before I read the book, I read some of the reviews on GoodReads. Admittedly, it’s probably not good practice as I’d probably end up biased regarding how I see the book while reading it. And well, there were quite a number of “bad” reviews regarding the book. But, personally, I enjoyed reading the book. I had a lot of questions and concerns but, in my opinion, it wasn’t like the book was as terrible as Twilight (sorry Twilight fans but I really didn’t don’t like Twilight).

The plot was okay but it definitely could have been stronger. Too many questions and barely enough answers. I need more information on the universe of The Selection: the history of Illea (Why are history books not allowed in school?), the caste system, the rebels (What are the rebels after?). The book was also kind of lacking in imagery. I found it a bit difficult to imagine how everything looks. I’m not sure of the technology available to them or how a city looks like. These would’ve been helpful in creating a more vivid image of Illea in my mind.

I think Maxon is an okay character. He seems honest and sincere, and he’s charming and likable. The only downside to his character is that he comes across a bit Gary/Marty Stu-ish (the male version of a Mary Sue). Sometimes he comes across as too perfect, like his character doesn’t have any flaws. I’m still undecided on how I feel about Aspen. He seems like a good kid and that his heart is in the right place but… I don’t know. Something about him just doesn’t click with me. I like Maxon better.

America annoyed me at first. Since she’s the lead, I wanted to see more from her. Maybe because I had certain expectations from a “heroine”, I didn’t really like her during the first part of the book. I especially didn’t like her after that thing with Aspen. But as she spent time with Maxon, she slowly changed and that was when I started liking her. Hopefully, her character continues to grow in the next book. Of course, I don’t expect her to become like Katniss or Hermione or some of the other strong heroines from other books.

“No, I’m not choosing him or you. I’m choosing me.”

– America Singer

I read on Kiera Cass’ website that there’s going to (might?) be a TV mini-series of The Selection by The CW coming out sometime next year. Around the same time as the release of the second book of the series. I’m interested in watching that. Mostly because I like shows shown on The CW.

Anyway, time for me to go. Until next time dear readers!🙂

♥ Niece

Leave a Reply

