#50BookPledge Book 18: Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord by Sarah MacLean

Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord by Sarah MacLean

Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord by Sarah MacLean

“If you have taught me one thing in my years here, it is that people see what they wish to see.”

– Lara

I picked the second book of Sarah MacLean’s Love by Numbers series, Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord (that’s a mouthful :P) as book 18 of my #50bookpledge. The Love by Numbers series is about twin brothers, Gabriel and Nicholas St. John, and their half-sister Juliana Fiori, who are well-known to the ton for having scandalous reputations. Ten Ways is about the younger St. John, Nicholas, who has intrigued me since the first book (Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake) with his easy going personality.

Anyway, here is the synopsis of the story straight from Sarah MacLean’s website:

“Lord Nicholas is a paragon of manhood.
And his eyes, Dear Reader! So blue!”
Pearls & Pelisses, June 1823

Since being named on of London’s “Lords to Land” by a popular ladies’ magazine, Nicholas St. John has been relentlessly pursued by every matrimony-minded female in the ton. So when an opportunity to escape fashionable society presents itself, he eagerly jumps—only to land in the path of the most determined, damnably delicious woman he’s ever met!

The daughter of a titled wastrel, Lady Isabel Townsend has too many secrets and too little money. Though used to taking care of herself quite handily, her father’s recent passing has left Isabel at sea and in need of outside help to protect her young brother’s birthright. The sinfully handsome, eminently eligible Lord Nicholas could be the very salvation she seeks.

But the lady must be wary and not do anything reckless…like falling madly, passionately in love.

Learn to love the error of his ways.

You will find it difficult to believe, we know, but even lords as landable as these will have a flaw or two…

Embrace these flaws, Dear Reader! For it is in these peccadilloes that we find the charm and joy at the heart of any deserved match!

Pearls and Pelisses

I’ve liked Nick since the first book in the series so I’ve wanted to read this. I still like the first book more compared to this but I did enjoy reading this story. Isabel had a very compelling back story to explain her motivations and I really liked the premise of the Minerva House. As with the first book, the empowering of women is an essential part of the story. Compared to the first book though, it’s a bit more obvious here, after all, Minerva house is full of women who found the strength to leave their terrible lives behind them regardless of the fact that they would probably have little place to go. Sometimes, it’s easier for people to stay where they are because it’s what’s familiar, even if they aren’t happy there. By leaving their past behind them, they take a step forward to their happiness.

As I said, I’ve always been intrigued with Nick’s personality. In the first book, even though he had an easy going personality and always seemed to be smiling, seemed to me to be hiding his real feelings behind the smile. I suppose I was able to come easily to that conclusion because that’s one of my defense mechanisms. I loved reading about Nick in this book. His character is, no doubt, a knight in shining armor. He’s drawn to damsels in distress and it was really sad when one such damsel (who wasn’t really in distress after all) betrayed him. Fake damsels in distress give women a bad name.

“I don’t know what you are hiding from, Isabel, but I will know soon enough. And if it is in my power to change it, I shall.”

– Nick

I liked Nick and Isabel’s love story because, to me, it was a love story which emphasized the importance of trust. Not just trusting your secret with the other person, but also trusting your heart to them. You had to trust that they’d be able to protect you from whatever demons you’re facing. You had to trust that they won’t break your heart. I’ve always felt that trust was one of the most important aspects of love. I’ve always found it difficult to believe that you can love the person and not trust them. After all, if you love them, wouldn’t you give them the benefit of the doubt? You wouldn’t give them your heart if you didn’t trust that they’d take care of it.

The Duke of Leighton also makes an appearance in this book. If I disliked him in the first book, I hated him in this one. I can’t believe that he’d choose to keep his family name clean of scandal rather than protect his sister. I don’t blame his sister for running away from home; if her family puts family name above the family members themselves, what kind of family are they? At least, in Minerva house, she can feel loved and she can give birth to her child without being too stressed by the ton talking about her. It’s sad that Georgiana loves her brother but her brother can’t seem to let go of their family pride to stay by his sister.

Considering that the third book is about the Duke of Leighton, I’d like to see if he can redeem himself.

It is most important, Dear Reader, for you to learn this final lesson.

Once your lord has been well and truly landed, it will be your duty to ensure that the nests of his life are properly and perfectly feathered, for singlehood is not for men of earnestness and respectable purpose. Indeed, it is marriage and children and the pleasures that come with both that are evidence of a life well lived.

And our lords — these pillars of men carefully selected and showcased for your benefit in these pages — will require brides able to love, to honor, and the cherish in all the ways they deserve.

Pearls and Pelisses

The next (and last book) of this series is actually in my to-read list of the #50bookpledge. I’m kind of excited to read it and see if I’ll be able to like the Duke of Leighton because, as I’ve mentioned above, I kind dislike him at the moment. 😛

Anyway, it’s time for me to log out. Until next time dear readers. 🙂

♥ Niece

Leave a Reply

