#50BookPledge Book 17: Where Rainbows End by Cecilia Ahern

Where Rainbows End by Cecilia Ahern

Where Rainbows End by Cecilia Ahern

Life is far from perfect, for everyone.You’re not the only one, there isn’t a great big black cloud just hanging over your head and no one else’s. It just feels that way. But it feels like that for a lot of people. You just have to make the most of what you’ve got.

For book 17 of my #50bookpledge, I decided to go with Cecilia Ahern’s Where Rainbows End (also known as Love, Rosie). The book’s synopsis really intrigued as it was about two best friends. And those who know me well know that I’m a sucker for such love stories. It was a pleasant surprise to find that the theme of this book tied in with the last two books I read; instead of texts and Twitter messages, this book focuses on letters, notes, and the occasional email.

Here’s the synopsis of the book from GoodReads:

From the bestselling author of PS, I Love You comes a delightfully enchanting novel about what happens when two people who are meant to be together just can’t seem to get it right.

Rosie and Alex are destined for one another, and everyone seems to know it but them. Best friends since childhood, their relationship gets closer by the day, until Alex gets the news that his family is leaving Dublin and moving to Boston. At 17, Rosie and Alex have just started to see each other in a more romantic light. Devastated, the two make plans for Rosie to apply to colleges in the U.S.

She gets into Boston University, Alex gets into Harvard, and everything is falling into place, when on the eve of her departure, Rosie gets news that will change their lives forever: She’s pregnant by a boy she’d gone out with while on the rebound from Alex.

Her dreams for college, Alex, and a glamorous career dashed, Rosie stays in Dublin to become a single mother, while Alex pursues a medical career and a new love in Boston. But destiny is a funny thing, and in this novel, structured as a series of clever e-mails, letters, notes, and a trail of missed opportunities, Alex and Rosie find out that fate isn’t done with them yet.

From the gifted author of PS, I Love You comes this charming, romantic, addictively page-turning novel that will keep readers laughing and guessing until the very last page.

You deserve someone who loves you with every single beat of his heart, someone who thinks about you constantly, someone who spends every minute of every day just wondering what you’re doing, where you are, who you’re with, and if you’re OK. You need someone who can help you reach your dreams and who can protect you from your fears. You need someone who will treat you with respect, love every part of you, especially your flaws. You should be with someone who can make you happy, really happy, dancing on air happy.

I think that this might be one of the longest books I’ve read for my #50bookpledge. It had so many chapters and there were so many things that happened. I think what made it interesting (and prevented me from being bored with it and stop reading) were the letters. I loved that the story was mainly told in letters which made everything feel more personal for me. It was like we were seeing more into the relationship because letters are usually very personal for people. You don’t normally let everyone read your letters after all.

Rosie and Alex’ love story is a long hit-and-miss story. I mean, seriously. [SPOILER] It took them until they were 60 something to finally get together. [END SPOILER] I was rooting for the two of them from the start and sometimes, it was frustrating that it was taking so long for them to get together. It took them so long that I even thought that they wouldn’t end up together in the end. There were so many opportunities for them but there was always a complication. Oh well, I suppose that’s how life is. You can’t expect everything to be easy. The important things in life are worth fighting for. And Alex and Rosie definitely showed that their love was just that.

Apart from the love story, the book also focused on many aspects of Rosie’s life. I think that though the book is primarily a romance book, it touches so many topics that it’s a good read for anyone. [SPOILER] I think this book tackles pretty much everything: unplanned pregnancies, unfaithful spouses, single parenthood, finding your path, among many others. [END SPOILER] It’s not light reading (at least for me) but it’s written in a way that makes you keep wanting to read. And even if I can’t relate with everything in the book, I still feel that I learned a lot from it.

There aren’t many sure things in life, but one thing I know for sure is that you have to deal with the consequences of your actions. You have to follow through on some things.

All in all, I think the book was a really nice read. Not really light reading (which I usually prefer) but I definitely enjoyed reading it.

Anyway, time for me to go. Until next time dear readers! 😀

♥ Niece

Leave a Reply

