#50BookPledge Book 16: I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

I've Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

… sometimes you have to be brave. Sometimes you have to show people what’s important in life. And I have this very strong gut instinct that what I’ve done is the right thing. Maybe not the easy thing — but the right thing.

For book 16 of my #50bookpledge, I decided to go with Sophie Kinsella’s I’ve Got Your Number. I picked this book because I was really interested in the gist of the story. It’s a plus that the theme kind of ties in with the last book I read. This book also tackles the idea of finding love through a different form of communication; the last book involved Twitter while this one involves text messages and emails.

And here’s the synopsis of the book from GoodReads:

I’ve lost it. The only thing in the world I wasn’t supposed to lose. My engagement ring. It’s been in Magnus’s family for three generations. And now, the very same day his parents are coming, I’ve lost it. The very same day. Do not hyperventilate, Poppy. Stay positive!!

Poppy Wyatt has never felt luckier. She is about to marry the ideal man, Magnus Tavish, but in one afternoon her ‘happy ever after’ begins to fall apart. Not only has she lost her engagement ring but in the panic that followed, she has now lost her phone. As she paces shakily round the hotel foyer she spots an abandoned phone in a bin. Finders keepers! Now she can leave a number for the hotel to contact her when they find her ring. Perfect!

Well, perfect except the phone’s owner, businessman Sam Roxton doesn’t agree. He wants his phone back and doesn’t appreciate Poppy reading all his messages and wading into his personal life.

What ensues is a hilarious and unpredictable turn of events as Poppy and Sam increasingly upend each other’s lives through emails and text messages. As Poppy juggles wedding preparations, mysterious phone calls and hiding her left hand from Magnus and his parents… she soon realises that she is in for the biggest surprise of her life.

“No one should walk up the aisle feeling inferior or in a different league or trying to be something they’re not.”

– Sam

I enjoy reading Sophie Kinsella’s books, though I have to admit that I haven’t read any of her Shopaholic books. I discovered Sophie Kinsella through my good friend in college, Mikki. She lent me her copy of “Can You Keep a Secret” and I really liked that book. Since then, I’ve been including a few Sophie Kinsella books in my library. I might read another of her books for my #50bookpledge if I can’t find another book to read. 🙂

Anyway, the book is pretty short. Or well, I guess, it’s more appropriate to say that it felt like a short read. Since I read it using an e-book, I’m not entirely sure how long the book is. So, I’m approximating. 😛 It was a light read and I liked the story a lot. I liked that the book was less about Sam and Poppy finding love but about each of them learning from each other and growing with each other’s help. I feel like I’ve learned a lot from Sam too; there were times when I could relate with Poppy (mostly her insecurity) and Sam’s advice to her stayed in my mind too.

I can’t really think of what I don’t like about the book. I guess if I had to pick, I’d pick the character Magnus. I just think he’s really kind of douche-y. If he was a real person, I hope that he changes after what happens in the book.

“I also know that standing up for yourself can be hard. But you have to do it. You have to get it out there.”

– Sam

Well, that’s it for book 16. I’ll try to write about book 17 tomorrow. Hopefully, I’ll have time to write it. 🙂

Time for me to go now. Until next time dear readers. (^^)/~~

♥ Niece

Leave a Reply

