#50BookPledge Book 15: Goodnight Tweetheart by Teresa Medeiros

Goodnight Tweetheart by Teresa Medeiros

Goodnight Tweetheart by Teresa Medeiros

MarkBaynard: … life has meaning simply because it’s…life.

I chose Teresa Medeiros’ Goodnight Tweetheart as book 15 of my #50bookpledge. This book is centered on finding love through the social media-slash-microblogging platform, Twitter. I’m sure many of us have Twitter (it’s why I use the hashtag #50bookpledge in my blog titles) so I suppose I don’t need to explain how that works. For those who don’t have Twitter, well, simply put, this book is “A Love Story in 140 Characters or Less”.

Here’s the summary of the book from GoodReads:

New York Times bestselling author Teresa Medeiros absolutely dazzles in this quick-witted, laugh-out-loud funny, and highly moving love story that will set readers’ hearts atwitter.

Abigail Donovan has a lot of stuff she should be doing. Namely writing her next novel. A bestselling author who is still recovering from a near Pulitzer Prize win and the heady success that follows Oprah’s stamp of approval, she is stuck at Chapter Five and losing confidence daily. But when her publicist signs her up for a Twitter account, she’s intrigued. What’s all the fuss?

Taken under the wing of one of her Twitter followers, “MarkBaynard”—a quick witted, quick-typing professor on sabbatical—Abby finds it easy to put words out into the world 140 characters at a time. And once she gets a handle on tweets, retweets, direct messages, hashtags, and trends, she starts to feel unblocked in writing and in life. After all, why should she be spending hours in her apartment staring at her TweetDeck and fretting about her stalled career when Mark is out there traveling the world andliving?

Or is he?

Told almost entirely in tweets and DMs, Goodnight Tweetheart is a truly modern take on a classic tale of love and loss—a Griffin and Sabine for the Twitter generation.

Abby_Donovan: Maybe they were both wrong. Maybe hope never dies, not even when we do.

I really enjoyed reading this book. I love the whole concept of the book: a story told in mostly tweets and DMs (for those non-Twitter people, DMs are direct messages, aka private messages). It was quite easy to read since it was just like reading a Twitter feed and I pretty much do that everyday since I have a Twitter too. There was still a good amount of story-telling interspersed with the tweets so you still get a good picture of what’s happening around the main character (after all, she doesn’t spend the whole day on Twitter).

I also loved reading the tweets of the characters. Their conversations were sometimes funny and silly, sometimes deep and profound, but they always sounded witty. Their “good night” tweets were also amusing and it was fun to try to guess where they got the characters from. I think it would’ve been better if the TwitPic links worked so that you could also see the pictures that they send each other. When I first saw that there were TwitPics, I tried loading them but they didn’t load so that was a bit of a bummer. Still, it didn’t take too much from the story since they described what was in the picture.

The ending was a cliffhanger though and there was no epilogue so I think that’s the only thing I didn’t like about the book. I really wanted to know what happened after everything. Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to imagine my own ending to the story.

MarkBaynard: I believe in you. But I don’t think that’s going to matter a whole hell of a lot until you start believing in yourself.

I think I would enjoy reading another book that’s like this. It’s different from the conventional book but it’s still nice. The plot was interesting and the writing was good so I think it’s easy to enjoy a book regardless if it’s written a bit differently. 🙂

Anyway, time for me to go. Until next time dear readers. (^^)/~~

♥ Niece

Leave a Reply

