Yummy Eats 2012: An Eating and Cooking Fair

Yummy Eats 2012: An Eating and Cooking Fair

Yummy Eats 2012: An Eating and Cooking Fair

Last May 26, 2012, Summit Media held their food fair, Yummy Eats, for the second year. I’ve already talked about Yummy Eats before (see Yummy Eats 2011) but for those who don’t know about Yummy Eats yet, it is basically, “An Eating and Cooking Fair”. This year’s Yummy Eats was held at the Rockwell Tent next to the Powerplant Mall in Makati. I think there’s a few more concessionaires this time around which was tres awesome since you got to taste more food.

This year, I went with both my brother and my sister. We headed to Yummy Eats after my shift at work (yes, work on a Saturday; it sucks,  I know) and was at the event for around 2 hours. We didn’t plan to stay that long but we really wanted to taste most, if not all, of the food that was there. So, when we arrived at the Rockwell Tent, we went to buy our tickets — P150 per head but you get P50 off if you present the May 2012 issue of Yummy. Upon registration, you receive your “ticket”. The difference between last year and this year’s ticket is that this year, the ticket is in a mini-booklet format. The ticket contains tips on how to enjoy Yummy Eats, a directory of the concessionaires in the event (complete with their contact information), a map of the event area, a page for your note-taking, a page for posting on the “freedom wall”, and of course, the page where you “collect” your stamps.

Yummy Eats 2012 Ticket

Yummy Eats 2012 Ticket

Considering we didn’t get to sample food from all the concessionaires, we still were able to fill up all of the stamp page. That’s how many concessionaires there were. You could just imagine how full we all were after the event. We even decided to forego dinner because we were still really full from all the food we sampled. And as I predicted from last year’s Yummy Eats, there were definitely more people this year. The area was crowded which made it a bit difficult to move around but we still definitely had a lot of fun.

As with last year’s event, there were still cooking demos for people to watch. This year though, there were 5 cooking demos through out the day, starting with the Century Bangus’ cooking demo at 12nn, followed by the McCormick Coooking Demo. After the first two cooking demos was the Hunt’s Mother and Child Cook-off, followed the the Hunt’s Cooking Demo with Chef Nino, and the cooking demos b Chef Marie Gonzales, and Chef Bruce Lim. You know that Yummy Eats has “leveled up” when you consider the fact that they got really famous chefs for their cooking demos. We didn’t really get to just watch the cooking demos though because we were too busy trying to taste all the food that was there.😛

Ice Cream at Yummy Eats 2012

T: Pinkerton, LL: Pint, LR: Fog City Creamery

As we got to taste a whole slew of food from different concessionaires, here are my favorites for this year:

  • Pinkerton Ice Cream: I absolutely loved Pinkerton’s Pink Guava ice cream. It was refreshing and cool and really delicious. You could taste the pink guava in the ice cream and whatever herb they mixed with it (I’m still stumped as to what herb it is) just made the taste of the guava pop.
  • Pint Homemade Ice Cream: I’m a sucker for banoffee pies so I got Pint’s Banoffee Pie ice cream. Mixing banoffee pie and ice cream in one spoon is just heaven for me; that’s two of my favorite desserts in one bite! The ice cream was not too sweet and it really tasted like banoffee pie.
  • Fog City Creamery: Isn’t obvious I love ice cream?😛 Fog City Creamery’s Banana Cream ice cream was delicious. The mix of banana and cream in the ice cream was just right. The creaminess of the ice cream didn’t overpower the taste of bananas and the sweetness of the ice cream was perfect for my taste buds.
Desserts at Yummy Eats 2012

L: Choclery, UR: Cupcake Boutique, LR: The Red Hot Oven

  • Choclery: Choclery allowed you to taste two flavors of their pralines: the Chili Truffle (ain’t completely sure of the name because I can’t read it in my photograph) and the Bleucheese Praline. The flavors sound interesting noh? I, for one, definitely liked both of the flavors even if they were a bit different. The chili in the chocolate battled the natural sweetness of the chocolate while the bleucheese, as weird as it sounds, complemented the chocolate well.
  • Cupcake Boutique: My favorite cupcake from Cupcake Boutique would have to be The Diplomat. The cupcake wasn’t too sweet, it wasn’t dry, and it was full of dark chocolate-y goodness.It was perfect and heavenly. ‘Nuff said.
  • Red Hot Oven: I’m still not entirely sure what a crack pie is but Red Hot Oven’s crack pie was simply delicious. It’s something new for me because I haven’t tasted a crack pie before but I liked it. It’s sweet and kind of creamy and well, tasty.
  • Yemashita: Yemas are delicious; that’s a fact. My problem with most yemas is that they are most usually too sweet for my tastes. I like sweets but I don’t like it if they’re too sweet. Yemashita’s yemas are, thankfully, the perfect mix of sweet and creaminess which made it all the more delicious.
A Mix of Savory and Sweet at Yummy Eats 2012

UL: Wabi Sabi, LL: Yemashita, R: Simply Pie

  • Wabi-Sabi: I loved their vegetarian tortilla-slash-cuapao. I don’t know what they call it but it’s freaking delicious. The meat they used was tofu but you wouldn’t have thought it was made of tofu. Also, you didn’t even have to put sauce because it was already perfect. I’m craving it right now as I type. That’s how delicious it was.
  • Simply Pie: The quiches from Simply Pie are probably the best quiches I’ve ever tasted. The quiches were crunchy and tasted superb. My favorite would have to be the Crabstick and Laing mini quiche. The crabstick and the laing complemented each other well; the crabstick flasvor was not overpowered by the laing and the laing tasted perfect.
  • Chuck’s Grub | Fish and Chips: No picture for this shop but their fish and chips were heavenly. The fish didn’t not have “fishy” taste (you know what I mean) but tasted well seasoned and were cooked perfectly. The chips were also well seasoned and had the right crispiness to them. Also, considering the food’s deep fried, they weren’t too oily which is always a plus.
Savory Food at Yummy Eats 2012

L: Whisk, UR: Crunchy Belly, LR: Mama Lou’s Italian Kitchen

  • Whisk: Whisk sells salad dressings, dips, and sauces. I enjoyed tasting the different dips and salad dressings that they had. I love me my salads and the dressing is what sells a salad to me. Whisk’s salad dressings were delightful on the taste buds — light but tasty. Their dips were also delicious and I would definitely enjoy dipping my favorite chips (Frito Lays!) in them.
  • Carlo’s Kitchen: Carlo’s Kitchen’s crunchy belly are thinly sliced pieces of pork belly which are fried to crunchy perfection. In other words, a really delightful piece of bacon! C’mon, who doesn’t love bacon? Their crunchy belly was just perfect and would definitely have you wanting to eat more.
  • Mama Lou’s Italian Kitchen: Pizza pocket’s are not very common here in our country, which is kind of weird because we like empanadas or pocket pies; they’re kind of the same. Anyway, Mama Lou’s panzarottis (which are their pizza pockets) were delicious. The crust was crunchy and the filling was very tasty. There was also plenty of filling so you didn’t feel like you were just eating pie crust.
Filipino Favorites at Yummy Eats 2012

T: Pepita’s Lechon
B: Margie’s Paella

  • Margie’s Paella: I like paellas but I tend to be really picky with them. I need them to taste perfectly. If one ingredient overshadows the whole dish, I wouldn’t like it. I actually don’t know what type of paella we were served but all I can say is that is was perfect. All of the ingredients blended with each other and none of the ingredients overshadowed the other. You could still taste the ingredients in the paella but the tastes didn’t clash at all.
  • Pepita’s Lechon: We’re Filipinos and we love us our lechon (roast pig for those who don’t know what lechon is). What’s awesome about Pepita’s Lechon is that the lechon is stuffed with rice. Yes. Two of a Filipino’s favorite food in one bite. We sampled their truffle rice stuffed lechon and it was just heavenly. The lechon was cooked perfectly; it was not dry but really juicy and tasty. The stuffed rice was tres delicious. Me and my siblings love risottos and the truffle rice was just like a risotto. Apart from the individual food tasting perfect, combining them seemed to make all the deliciousness more than perfect.
  • Century Bangus: Century, known for their tuna line, now has a range of products which are made from bangus. They get a special mention (they’re sponsors so they’re “special”) from me because I fell in love with their bangus tapa. It was my first time to try any of their bangus products at the Yummy Eats and I got that moment of speechless wonder when I tasted their bangus tapa. It was so delicious and you wouldn’t have thought you were eating bangus.
Photobooth and Freedom Wall at Yummy Eats 2012

Photobooth and Freedom Wall at Yummy Eats 2012

Long list of favorites for this year neh? ;P

After tasting all the food samples we could, we went to the photobooth area, once again by Baicapture. It was fun to get our photos taken after all the food sampling. Thankfully, the line for the photobooth this year was not that long so we didn’t have to wait long for our turn. After the photobooth, we went back to buy the food we were going to take home for our parents to taste. We decided to go with the mini quiches from Simply Pie and donuts from J. Co Donuts & Coffee.

Before leaving, we posted some of our comments on the freedom wall (which the personnel were shaping into a heart; how cute). As with last year, there was a shop outside selling envirosax bags, aprons, and button pins, and also an internet station. We didn’t get to stop by anymore because it was already late and we needed to head home. Oh well.

Anyway, that’s it for my Yummy Eats 2012 experience. I hope I’ll get to go again next year. I really really love food and this is such a great way to eat and have fun at the same time.🙂

Well, time for me to go. Catch you later dearest readers! (^^)/~~

♥ Niece

Leave a Reply

