#50BookPledge Book 12: Guilty Pleasures by Laura Lee Gurkhe

I think I should probably put a standard author’s note at the start of my #50bookpledge entries warning my readers against the possible incoherentness of my post. *laughs* Kidding. But seriously, this might once again be a rambly entry because I was supposed to have written this entry a few weeks ago so I’ve kinda lost track of some of my thought trains. I still hope you’ll enjoy reading though.🙂

Guilty Pleasures by Laura Lee Gurkhe

Guilty Pleasures by Laura Lee Gurkhe

Love, she thought, should be a pleasant thing, warm and tender, not something that hurt one’s heart by its intensity.

For book 12 of my #50bookpledge, I chose Laura Lee Gurkhe’s Guilty Pleasures. I enjoyed my first Laura Lee Gurkhe book so I thought I’d go and check her older books. The synopsis of this book was the most interesting for me so I decided to read this one as the next book for my #50bookpledge.

Anyway, here’s the synopsis of the book from GoodReads:

For prim and shy Daphne Wade, the sweetest guilty pleasure of all is secretly watching her employer, the Duke of Tremore, as he works the excavation site on his English estate. Anthony hired Daphne to restore the priceless treasures he has been diggin up, but it’s hard for a woman to keep her mind on her work when her devastatingly handsome employer keeps taking his shirt off. He doesn’t know she’s alive, but who could blame her for falling hopelessly in love with him anyway?

Anthony thinks that his capable employee knows all there is to know about antiquities, but when his sister decides to turn the plain young woman in gold-rimmed glasses into an enticing beauty, he declares the task to be impossible. Daphne is devasted when she overhears…and determined to prove him wrong. Now a vibrant and delectable Daphne has emerged from her shell, and the tables are turned. Will Anthony see that the woman of his dreams has been there all along?

“It is just that love can bring its own measure of pain, Miss Wade.”

Daphne paused, her fingers tightening around the brush in her hand as she looked into the other woman’s eyes. “Yes,” she admitted, “I suppose it can, if one is not loved in return. But surely the joy of the experience is worth the pain.”

I really enjoyed this book and I really liked Daphne’s character. I like that when she realized that the man she’s been pining for didn’t even notice her, she turned around and began standing up for herself. When she was still very much infatuated with Anthony, she was so quiet and did every thing that Anthony asked her to without question. I understood where the behavior was coming from but I know that you don’t win guys like that. As a woman, you need to come out of your shell and let them see who you really are. If they don’t like you for you, they’re not worth your time. Thinking about this, I really should probably listen to my own thoughts.

I felt really sad for Anthony’s character. I know that love is a good thing and that when your parents love each other, it’s a wonderful thing. But having one of your parents die and have the other, in essence, die that same day is I’m sure a very lonely and tragic experience. As a parent, you should have more than enough love for your children if your other half leaves the world early. If I was Anthony, I probably would have cursed love too. After all, as a child, your view on love is what you can see from your parents. And if “love” is the reason your parent basically ignores you, then your view of love would be distorted.

She didn’t care. She loved him, and he was taking another step toward her. Odd how one simple thing could put everything else into place. This time, she was going to take a leap of faith all the way to him. This time, she wasn’t going to be afraid of getting her heart broken. This time, she wasn’t going to worry about making a mistake.

Anyway, that it’s for this entry. I have 5 #50bookpledge entries in my backlog so I really need to get back and start writing. Work has been really hectic and stressful lately that I couldn’t find time to write (or read for that matter) so I’m really glad I had the day off today so I could write again. I’ll keep trying to find time to write so that I don’t end up neglecting my blog once again.

So, until next time. Enjoy the week ahead dear readers.🙂

♥ Niece

Leave a Reply

