#50BookPledge Book 11: The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

~ ♥ ~

And that’s about all any of us can really hope for, to die with our dignity, to die with honor and valor. To die knowing we did everything we could.

– Henry

~ ♥ ~

Book 11 of my #50bookpledge is the second book of Pittacus Lore’s Lorien Legacies, The Power of Six. This is one of the books I’ve been putting off reading because I wanted to read books that I knew I could finish quickly first (in other words, historical romances). But, because I decided that my list for my #50bookpledge would be a bit more varied, I put this book in my reading list.

Anyway, here’s the synopsis of the book from GoodReads:

I’ve seen him on the news. Followed the stories about what happened in Ohio. John Smith, out there, on the run. To the world, he’s a mystery. But to me . . . he’s one of us.

Nine of us came here, but sometimes I wonder if time has changed us—if we all still believe in our mission. How can I know? There are six of us left. We’re hiding, blending in, avoiding contact with one another . . . but our Legacies are developing, and soon we’ll be equipped to fight. Is John Number Four, and is his appearance the sign I’ve been waiting for? And what about Number Five and Six? Could one of them be the raven-haired girl with the stormy eyes from my dreams? The girl with powers that are beyond anything I could ever imagine? The girl who may be strong enough to bring the six of us together?

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They tried to catch Number Four in Ohio—and failed.

I am Number Seven. One of six still alive.

And I’m ready to fight.

~ ♥ ~

I’m not sure how he’ll react. There’s no telling how a person will accept the answer to the question they’ve asked most of their life, the question that’s haunted them.

– John

~ ♥ ~

I discovered this series because of the movie that came out that was based on the first book. I really quite liked the movie and I loved how the characters were portrayed in the movie. After reading the first book, I did discover that there were quite a bit of alterations from the book. I still enjoyed them both nonetheless. Of course, I enjoyed the book more. Anyway, since I enjoyed the first book, I waited for the second to come out. I do love reading book series.

As much as I liked John Smith’s character in the first book, I always found myself drifting to Six’s and Sam’s characters. And to be honest, I was pretty much annoyed with John’s character in the second book. His character was too focused on love and when you’re one of the people who have to save the world from evil alien invaders, I think that you should be more focused on more important things. Not that love isn’t an important thing but it turned pretty cliche. Also, the part when John and Sarah meet up again was so very cheesy, I swear it felt like I had ants crawling up my skin (which isn’t a good thing).

I’m glad that the story was divided into John’s point of view and Marina’s point of view. It provided me with a different view of how being a Lorien on the run / in hiding is. After all, we can’t believe that all of them acted in the same way as John and Henry. It did get a little confusing to read though because I was reading an eBook but I still liked seeing the other Loriens. In any case, in the book (which I also have a copy of), John’s and Marina’s POVs can be distinguished by the font used in the book.

~ ♥ ~

“He once told me that the key to change is letting go of fear,” I say, looking into the eyes of Ella, Crayton and Six. “I don’t know if I’ve let go of fear just yet, but the change is happening. It’s definitely happening. And I can only hope that you all can help me through it.”

– Marina

~ ♥ ~

All in all, I think the book was pretty good. It had a good mix of mystery, action, and emotions. The characters were engaging and though John’s character was a bit annoying (I can’t reiterate it enough), I found that I still wanted to know more about each of them. I also loved this part of Henry’s letter to John:

Become who you’re meant to become, John. Grow strong and powerful and never forget for a minute the things you’ve learned along the way. Be noble, confident, and brave. Live with the same sort of dignity and valor that you inherited from your father, and trust in your heart and your will, as Lorien trusts in it still to this day. Never lose faith in yourself, and never lose hope; remember, even when this world throws its worst and then turns its back, there is still always hope.

I know I’m not one of the six but I think that it can speak to everyone. I know it touched my heart.

Anyway, that’s it for today. Work again tomorrow. Wish me luck.🙂

Nightie night dearest readers. (^^)/~~

♥ Niece

Leave a Reply

