#50BookPledge Book 9: A Lady Never Surrenders by Sabrina Jeffries

Again, I will apologize in advance if this ends up all incoherent and stuff. I’m squeezing all my brain juices just to get my thoughts out. I need to learn to blog regularly and though I’m making progress, I’m still having trouble putting my thoughts into words. I didn’t have this problem before and I know that if I wait for “inspiration” to strike, I’d end up not writing at all. So, I’m doing this regardless of how crazy my blog entry ends up. 😛

A Lady Never Surrenders by Sabrina Jeffries

A Lady Never Surrenders by Sabrina Jeffries

~ ♥ ~

“A man in love will fight to see that the woman he cares for is given what she deserves, even if he can’t have her.

– Isaac Waverly

~ ♥ ~

Book 9 of my #50bookpledge is the fifth (and last?) book of Sabrina Jeffries’ Hellions of Halstead Hall series: A Lady Never Surrenders. In this book, we see the love story of the youngest Sharpe sibling, Celia Sharpe and Mr. Jackson Pinter. I’ve actually been waiting to read Celia and Jackson’s story since book one. You probably would too if you’ve read all the other books in the series. And it wouldn’t be your fault really. Sabrina Jeffries has been hinting at their story since the start of the series.

Here is the synopsis of the book from GoodReads:

When the youngest Sharpe sister hatches a plan to gain marriage offers, the straight-laced Bow Street Runner Jackson Pinter knows he’ll do whatever it takes to ruin her scheme…

With two months left to find a husband to fulfill her grandmother’s ultimatum, Lady Celia Sharpe sets her sights on three eligible bachelors. Becoming betrothed to one of these wealthy, high-ranking men will surely prove her capable of getting married, so hopefully the wedding itself won’t be necessary for Celia and her siblings to receive their inheritance. Step two of her audacious plan is hiring the dangerously compelling Bow Street Runner Jackson Pinter to investigate the three men she’s chosen. But with Lady Celia bedeviling Jackson’s days and nights, the last thing he wants is to help her find a husband. And when she recalls shadowed memories that lead his investigation into her parents’ mysterious deaths in a new direction—putting her in danger—Jackson realizes the only man he wants Celia to marry is himself!

~ ♥ ~

“Because if you don’t make the attempt, you’ll regret it the rest of your life.”

– Aunt Ada

~ ♥ ~

I think my favorite part of the book is seeing a new side to Mr. Pinter. Even though Jackson has been in the past books in the series, he’s portrayed as a serious person who doesn’t really seem like someone who’d be a good hero for a romance book. But we can see that there’s a whole different side to him and that even though he’s usually serious, his intentions come from a good place. And honestly one of the best things in Mr. Pinter that I’ve seen in the past books is his loyalty. You can say that he’s loyal to the Sharpes because he’s being paid to do what he’s doing but sometimes, I’ve felt that he goes out of his way to do everything he can to solve the siblings’ parents’ death.

I’m also glad that they finally solved the mystery of the death of the parents of the Sharpe siblings. We know that it was a murder but they finally captured the murderer. After all that time, it’s a good thing that the murderer finally got their comeuppance. Justice was served and the Sharpes (both the dead and the living) are finally at peace. I didn’t really expect that the murderer was [I’m not gonna spoil it for you :P] but that might’ve been because I didn’t read the books that closely together so I’ve probably forgotten some of the clues.

All in all, I really enjoyed reading the book. I loved all the characters, even especially the supplementary characters like Isaac Waverly and Jackson’s Aunt Ada.

~ ♥ ~

“Love is taking chance when every rational part of you screams ‘Don’t risk it.’ Because it’s only when your heart has been ripped open that you get a chance to find the one person capable of making it whole.”

– Jackson Pinter

~ ♥ ~

On a related note, I’m excited for Sabrina Jeffries next book because it’s about Pierce Waverly, Virginia’s cousin (from book 4 of the series). I think he’s really charming and I’d love to see him become reformed. The preview that is included in A Lady Never Surrenders is also really interesting (you’ll have to read it to see what I mean).

Anyway, time for me to sleep. Good night dear readers. Until my next entry. 🙂

♥ Niece

Leave a Reply

