#50BookPledge Book 8: Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler. Illustrated by Maira Kalman.

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler. Illustrated by Maira Kalman.

~ ♥ ~

… the thing with your heart’s desire is that your heart doesn’t even know what it desires until it turns up.

~ ♥ ~

For book 8 of my #50bookpledge, I decided to read Daniel Handler’s Why We Broke Up. The initial reason why I was interested in the book was because of the title. Admit it, it’s a catchy title. So I decided to do some research on the book and I find out that Daniel Handler is better known as Lemony Snicket, the author of A Series of Unfortunate Events. That piece of information sold me. I really wanted to read the book. I loved A Series of Unfortunate Events; I was hoping I’d love this book too.

Here is a short synopsis of the book from GoodReads to get us started:

I’m telling you why we broke up, Ed. I’m writing it in this letter, the whole truth of why it happened.

Min Green and Ed Slaterton are breaking up, so Min is writing Ed a letter and giving him a box. Inside the box is why they broke up. Two bottle caps, a movie ticket, a folded note, a box of matches, a protractor, books, a toy truck, a pair of ugly earrings, a comb from a motel room, and every other item collected over the course of a giddy, intimate, heartbreaking relationship. Item after item is illustrated and accounted for, and then the box, like a girlfriend, will be dumped.

~ ♥ ~

I love it, I miss it, I hate to give it back to you, this complicated thing, it’s why we stayed together.

~ ♥ ~

As stated in the synopsis, the whole book is just one long letter. It’s okay really but I found it a bit difficult to read since the main character spoke a lot about movies (I still don’t know if they were made up or real) and her thoughts seem to be a bit more rambly than mine. In a way, I did enjoy the quirkiness of whole letter but sometimes, the thoughts were confusing to read. I don’t know. Maybe it’s just me.

What I liked most about the book would be the illustrations and the concept of telling the story about every item illustrated in the book. I can relate to the whole keeping silly insignificant but memorable things in a box. I like keeping mementos. I even have pages from a high school notebook containing drawings and scribbles. They tell a story, just like the items in the book.

The book has a website companion on Tumblr called “The Why We Broke Up Project”. You can submit your breakup stories there or you can browse what others have submitted. It’s really amusing to read. Some of the stories are quite funny but some, I feel I can relate to. Another nice thing about the site is that you can read a bit more about the book and the author and illustrator. Oh! And some celebrities have also shared their own breakup stories. 🙂

As a final note, you can read an excerpt of the book here.

~ ♥ ~

“And I hope that someday I’ll do another something stupid and I’ll have to say it a million times because that’s how long it’ll be, together with you, Min. With you.”

– Ed Slaterton

~ ♥ ~

Well, it’s time for me to go now. I’ve already started on book 9 of my #50bookpledge and I hope to finish it early this week so I can finish book 10 this week too (I’m behind by one book). I’ve also a blog post I’m going to write about an event my sister asked me to write about as a favor.

So, until next time dear readers. (^^)/~~

♥ Niece 

PS. If you guys are interested, would you be so kind as to pop on over to my freewrites blog and leave me comments, suggestions, or any reactions. I’m really hoping for some constructive criticism, not because I want to know that people read my freewrites but so that I can learn to write better (again). Thanks guys. 🙂

PPS. I’d also love to receive comments here. I love hearing from my readers. 🙂

~ ♥ ~

To stutter through it with you or even stop stuttering and say nothing, was so lucky and soft, better talk than mile-a-minute with anyone.

~ ♥ ~

2 thoughts on “#50BookPledge Book 8: Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

Leave a Reply

