#50BookPledge Book 5: To Wed a Wild Lord by Sabrina Jeffries

To Wed a Wild Lord by Sabrina Jeffries

To Wed a Wild Lord by Sabrina Jeffries

I read the fourth book of Sabrina Jeffries’ Hellions of Halstead Hall series entitled To Wed a Wild Lord as the fifth book of my #50bookpledge. The Hellions of Halstead Hall series is about the five Sharpe siblings who all have to get married within a year or they lose their inheritance. Since Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton series, I’ve found myself  enjoying series about siblings. I think it’s because I get to see the growth of the siblings outside their books. I also like that I get to peek at the siblings with their partners after their books.

Here’s the synopsis of To Wed a Wild Lord from Sabrina Jeffries’ website:

To fulfill his grandmother’s ultimatum, Lord Gabriel Sharpe pursues a spitfire he believes desperately needs him. Then the tables are turned….

Like everything daredevil Gabriel Sharpe does, pursuing Virginia Waverly is a high-stakes game. Ever since her brother Roger died racing Lord Gabriel, Virginia has yearned to take her revenge on the reckless lord by beating him at his own sport. But when she challenges Lord Gabriel to a race, the hellion who has always embraced his dark reputation as the “Angel of Death” counters with a marriage proposal!

Gabe knows Virginia’s family is in dire financial straits—why shouldn’t she marry him and solve both their problems? She claims to be appalled by his proposal, but her response to his kisses says otherwise. So when the two of them begin to unravel the truth behind Roger’s death, Gabe takes the greatest gamble of all, offering the cunning and courageous beauty something more precious than any inheritance: true love.

My favorite part of the story is Gabriel. I absolutely loved Gabriel. He’s not my favorite Sharpe brother (that would have to be Jarret), but I still fell in love with his character. I think what I loved most about him is his sense of honor. His reasons for marrying were less about him but more about doing right by his late friend’s family and about protecting his little sister. How sweet is that? I also felt for Gabriel. I think that losing a friend without knowing the real reason why is not only devastating but surely haunting. I don’t think I would’ve been able to stand not knowing the truth nor ignoring what other’s think of me because of that.

I also enjoyed Virginia as the heroine. I think her character resonates with a lot of the females in today’s society. Though Virginia is expected to be prim and proper, she hides a streak of recklessness within her. She finds though that what’s important is for her to be herself. And I think everyone should remember that. After all, the person who’ll love you truly is someone who’ll love all the parts of you: the parts of you that’s hidden, and the parts of you that you didn’t even know was part of you. Just like Gabriel who saw all aspects of Virginia’s personality and loved her for that.

Well, that’s it for today. I’m already reading the sixth book for my 50 book pledge but I’m afraid I might not finish it in time. It’s a bit lengthy. I’ll do my best to finish it by mid-week next week though. If I finish it by mid-week, I’ll have enough time to finish a historical romance novel (which one, I still haven’t decided yet).

Until next time dear readers! 🙂

♥ Niece

PS.

I might change the way I talk about the books in my book pledge that I’ve finished. To be honest, I’m kind of running out of things to say. 😛

So I might just introduce the book and pick lines/phrases/paragraphs from the book that stuck to me. That way, I still would be able to blog without having to overexert my brain. I might go back to this format again once I’ve become more accustomed to writing again. I’m rusty from not blogging for a long time and I’ve been having a difficult time making myself coherent and cohesive with my blog entries. I hope you’ll all understand. 🙂

2 thoughts on “#50BookPledge Book 5: To Wed a Wild Lord by Sabrina Jeffries

  1. I’m happy that more and more people are using Goodreads ❤ Whenever I finish reading books I should try to write about them, too, like what you're doing. But then I forget to do it and move on to other books :c

    I promised myself to read 25 books this year. I'm still reading my 2nd book. I'm 1 book behind. 😄 Add me on Goodreads? 😀 http://goodreads.com/chiui

    • I’ve been using GoodReads for years. It’s what I usually use to look for books to read. I haven’t been active on it though. The last I updated my book list was around a year or two ago. 😛

      I don’t usually forget but I do procrastinate (with this among other things) so blogging about them is a way for me to try to battle my procrastination. 🙂

      Adding! 😀

Leave a Reply

