#50BookPledge Book 4: City of Lies by Lian Tanner

City of Lies by Lian Tanner

City of Lies by Lian Tanner

I read Lian Tanner‘s City of Lies as book 4 of my #50bookpledge. It’s the second book to her Keeper’s series, the first one being Museum of Thieves. Now, I’ve actually talked about the first book here (well, sort of), and I really loved it so it’s no surprise I’d read this one too. I’m not fond of being left with a cliffhanger so I tend to finish book series from start to end. Most of the time, even if I didn’t enjoy the book, I’d still continue reading just because I don’t like cliffies (also, because something inside me hopes that the story’ll get better). The only exception here would be the Twilight series but I’m not going into that unless you want to listen to me rant about how much I hated that.

Anyway, this story picks up a few months after the events in Jewel in the first book. Here’s a synopsis from GoodReads to get you started:

Goldie Roth is a trained thief and a skilled liar. Along with her friend Toadspit, she’s supposed to be one of the Keepers of the mysterious Museum of Dunt. But although she desperately wants to be a Keeper, she will not leave her sick parents to do so.

But when Toadspit’s sister Bonnie is stolen, he and Goldie are forced to follow the child-stealers to the neighboring city of Spoke. Along the way, Toadspit too is captured, and Goldie is caught up in the Festival of Lies, where every word she says means something else and no one can be trusted. There, Goldie discovers some dangerous secrets—secrets that the child-stealers will kill to protect. She will need all her skills as a thief and a liar if she is to survive and save her friends.

While I liked the first book more than this (the first was more interesting I believe), I still thoroughly enjoyed this book. It’s a good in-between book for the first and the third books.

The Festival of Lies is an interesting concept. I think it would be difficult to pull that off though, having to consistently lie for three whole days. I would imagine that it would be utterly weird to people from a different place that suddenly found themselves in the town when the Festival was taking place. Even though the story is about lying, I’m glad that they reiterated what Olga Ciavolga said in the first book: that lying is bad and you should only do it if absolutely necessary.

The character I loved the most in this book would be the new character Mouse. I liked that his innocence allowed him to help Goldie and the others in spite of them being strangers. Even though Pounce calls it being soft, I think Mouse was very noble. I don’t want to call Pounce selfish because I think he’s doing what he thinks he’s supposed to do to survive but helping in others in need when you can is a noble deed. Actions always have a consequence and if you do the right thing, you’ll get what you deserve. As we learned when Goldie helped the musicians and when Mouse helped Goldie and her friends.

Well, that’s it. I’m currently reading book 5 and I hope to finish it before the week ends so I can write about that. Anyway, until next time dear readers. 🙂

♥ Niece

Leave a Reply

