#50BookPledge Book 2: The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan

The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan

The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan

I chose Rick Riordan’s The Throne of Fire as book 2 of my #50BookPledge. It’s the second book of The Kane Chronicles (the first one being The Red Pyramid) and, similar to the Percy Jackson series, features gods and goddesses. This time though, instead of Greek ones, we meet the Egyptian gods and goddesses.

This book actually came out Summer of last year but only got to finish it recently because I’ve been putting off reading it. I’m definitely glad I decided to finally read it. It’s a pretty good sequel to the first one. Here’s the synopsis of the book from GoodReads:

Ever since the gods of Ancient Egypt were unleashed in the modern world, Carter Kane and his sister Sadie have been in trouble. As descendants of the House of Life, the Kanes have some powers at their command, but the devious gods haven’t given them much time to master their skills at Brooklyn House, which has become a training ground for young magicians.

And now their most threatening enemy yet – the chaos snake Apophis – is rising. If they don’t prevent him from breaking free in a few days’ time, the world will come to an end. In other words, it’s a typical week for the Kane family.

To have any chance of battling the Forces of Chaos, the Kanes must revive the sun god Ra. But that would be a feat more powerful than any magician has ever accomplished.

First they have to search the world for the three sections of the Book of Ra, then they have to learn how to chant its spells. Oh, and did we mention that no one knows where Ra is exactly?

Narrated in two different wisecracking voices, featuring a large cast of new and unforgettable characters, and with adventures spanning the globe, this second installment in the Kane Chronicles is nothing short of a thrill ride.

I’ve always been interested in reading on mythology. I think that if I didn’t take up Computer Science in college, I could’ve gone to study mythology. My love for mythology started when I first discovered a book on Greek mythology in the school library when I was in the third grade. From that point on, I ventured into reading on Roman mythology (which is closely related to the Greek one), Egyptian mythology, Norse mythology, and even tried to read on Filipino mythology (which is native to me since I’m from the Philippines). I’ll admit that the ones I know most about though is the Greek and Roman ones. I’m not entirely sure what it is about mythology that fascinates me so much. If I were to make a guess though, I think it’s because it combines the ordinary with the extraordinary, logic with magic.

I find that I liked The Throne of Fire more than The Red Pyramid (and that makes me regret putting it off for so long). It could be because The Throne of Fire was a tad more fast-paced than the first one. I also liked that we ventured more into the characters in this book. Of course, the first book was focused on introducing the main characters rather than delving deeper into their psyches.  The character development doesn’t only focus on the main characters but also goes to develop the secondary characters (like the gods Horus and Set, and the goddess Isis). I think that the main characters were portrayed a bit older than written though which is a bit confusing. I sometimes forget that Sadie is only 13 while Carter is 14. I sometimes feel like they’re 3 or 5 years older than they are.

Well, it’s already late (it’s already 1 in the morning!) so it’s time for me to sleep now. I’ve already finished book 3 of my #50bookpledge so I’ll be writing my review-of-sorts for that soon. Good night (or morning or afternoon, depends on what location in the world you’re situated in) dear readers.🙂

♥ Niece

2 thoughts on “#50BookPledge Book 2: The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

