#50BookPledge Book 1: Trouble at the Wedding by Laura Lee Guhrke

50 Book Pledge

50 Book Pledge

For the year 2012, to help in my New Year’s Resolution of blogging more, I decided to join in SavvyReader’s 50 Book Pledge. Now you may wonder how that’s going to help. Well, I thought that I could spread the joy of reading by sharing with you, my dear readers, the books that I’ll be reading as part of my 50 Book Pledge.

Now what is the 50 Book Pledge? The 50 book pledge is a pledge you take to read at least 50 books before the year ends. That’s roughly a book a week. The purpose of this is to make reading a priority for the year. You don’t have to pressure yourself to finish 50 of course. If you’ve just gotten into reading or aren’t into reading so much, then a book a week might be too much for you. You could instead plan to finish 25-26 books (giving you two weeks to finish a book) or just 12 books (a book a month) before the year ends.

I’m starting on this a bit late (it’s already the third week) so I’ll have a bit of catching up to do. I’ll do my best to catch up though. I’m already starting on another book so that I’ll finish two books this week and hopefully, I’ll be able to finish two books next week so I’ll have caught up. 🙂

Trouble at the Wedding by Laura Lee Guhrke

Trouble at the Wedding by Laura Lee Guhrke

So, for the first book, I decided to read Laura Lee Guhrke’s Trouble at the Wedding. It’s a historical romance which is a genre I’ve fallen in love with sometime during college. I used to hate romance books but I find historical romance books absolutely fascinating. It’s my first time to read a book by Laura Lee Guhrke. I discovered the book as I was browsing through Eloisa James’ website and I decided to read the book after reading the sneak peek. The sneak peek intrigued me and the synopsis made me want to read it all the more.

Here’s the synopsis of the book from GoodReads:

What happens when a woman is determined to marry the wrong man? When she just won’t listen to reason and rushes forward with wedding plans? When she just doesn’t care that she’s marrying a fortune hunting scoundrel who doesn’t love her? What’s her exasperated family supposed to do about it? Hire a different scoundrel to talk her out of it, of course.

American heiress Annabel Wheaton knows what she wants and love isn’t it. Born in a Mississippi backwater, with a twang as wide as the Delta, she wants respect to go with the millions her daddy found in a Klondike gold mine. But respect isn’t easy to come by in the closed Knickerbocker society of New York, and when the fortune-hunting Earl of Rumsford shows up, it seems like he’s just the ticket to make all Annabel’s dreams come true. When he proposes marriage, she happily agrees. That’s when the trouble starts.

Christian Du Quesne has always been trouble—a rake, a gambler, and when he was younger, a fortune hunter. He married once for the sake of the decaying family coffers, but he won’t do it again. When his older brother, the Duke of Scarborough, dies without issue, Christian become the duke and inherits a whole new pile of family debt with no way to pay it. When Annabel’s family hires him to show Annabel just what she’d be getting by marrying into Britain’s aristocratic class, he knows he’s the perfect person to talk her out of matrimony. Problem is, he only has four days to do it. Can he cause enough trouble in those four days to get her to call off the wedding?

One thing I love about historical romances is that I find the characters endearing. They’re also relatable even if they lived in a time different to ours. This book was no different. The heroine’s initial purpose for marrying was because she wanted to fit in and be accepted. I think that most everyone can relate to that. I know I can. Even if I say that I enjoy being different from others, I can’t deny that I’d be crushed if I was rejected as a person. The hero on the other hand is plagued with guilt over the consequences of his immaturity. It’s common for us to regret the stupid things we do out of immaturity.

As for their love story, I think it’s great how Christian not only made Annabel find a place in society but also how he accepted Annabel for who she was. Even at the start of the book, he didn’t want her to change – not her humor, her way of speaking, her vibrance. Annabel on the other hand gave Christian another chance. Not just with love, but with life. You can’t live your life in constant regret and Christian was letting his guilt rule his life. It helped him grow as a person but it also prevented him from finding happiness for himself.

Since I enjoyed this book, I might venture to read other of Laura Lee Guhrke’s works. I hope I’ll enjoy her other books too.

Well, that’s it for today. I hope you’ll join me in the 50 book pledge. If you’re joining, tell me all about the book you’re reading. I’d love to read about it. Who knows, I might decide to read that book as part of my pledge too.

It’s time for me to sleep so I must bid you all a good night. Until my next entry dear readers. 🙂

♥ Niece

Leave a Reply

