Cosplay: Naruto, YanMega, Jigoku Shoujo

It’s the second of October which means there’s only 29 days left until Halloween. I personally love Halloween. I think it’s because it allows me to feel like a child again — the child who loved to dress up and play pretend as she grew up.

One Halloween tradition is to dress up in a costume. There are many myths as to how this tradition started. One story tell us that Halloween (or All Hallow’s Eve as it used to be called) was the time when the barrier between the spirit world and the human world was very thin — so thin that the ghosts, ghouls, and monsters could cross over to our dimension. The humans, fearing that the supernatural entities would attack them, decided to dress up so that the dead or undead would not be able to see them. It’s just a story though and I have no idea if it’s real or not.

This tradition is the one tradition that I really love and miss doing. So I decided that I would prepare a cosplay this year. I’m not joining a competition or anything; I just want to try out cosplaying. Since cosplaying involves dressing up too, I figured it’ll be perfect for Halloween.

I don’t have a cosplay yet because I’m still trying to decide which character to cosplay as. I wanted to pick characters whose costumes I can easily buy/find or who have pieces which I already have or can customize using pieces I own. I also don’t want to use a wig because I can’t afford one yet. So I narrowed my choices to three characters: Hyuuga Hinata from Naruto, Adachi Hana from Yankee-kun to Megane-chan (or YanMega for short), and Enma Ai from Jigoku Shoujo.

Hyuuga Hinata from Naruto (Naruto Shippuuden Version)

Hyuuga Hinata from Naruto (Naruto Shippuuden Version)

Hinata: You can opt not to get the exact sandals and pouch that she has, and you can always buy or customize your own pair of cropped pants. I was thinking of buying a pair of sandals which could work as ninja sandals but would also be wearable outside (like for the office or on a day out). You can make your own pouch or make your own. It doesn’t have to be as sturdy as a ninja’s would be since you’re not really one. As for the cropped pants, I’m planning on making my own pair of customized pair from an old pair of pants that I have.  Since I already have black hair, I can get my hair styled like Hinata’s. I would need to get the coat custom-made though and I’d need to buy a Fire Nation headband. The good thing about Hinata’s coat is you could probably wear it as a jacket since it kinda looks like one. The only problem for Hinata would be the eyes. You’d need to find a pair of white (or really light blue) contact lenses that could pass for Hinata’s eyes.

Adachi Hana from Yankee-kun to Megane-chan (YanMega)

Adachi Hana from Yankee-kun to Megane-chan (YanMega)

Hana: School girl costumes are quite easy to do since you can find the pieces easily without having to custom make your own (though if you really want your cosplay to look perfect, then you’ll have to get your costume custom made). Find a pleated skirt, a white polo, a blue and white striped tie, fake glasses, knee high socks, and a pair of Mary Jane’s to get the basics of this costume. These should be easy to find in the mall’s department store but if you can’t find one, then just get it sewed. You can go with a red blazer (as in the left image) or with the yellow vest (as in the right image) but those should be relatively easy to find too. You’ll have to make sure to check though if the school uniform has a patch (I’ve seen cosplays where the blazer has a school emblem) but I think you can forego it if you’re tight on money. Hair is the easiest since I’ll just have to braid my hair in pigtails and part my hair like Hana’s (gel would be important here). Hana has brown eyes like me so that won’t be a problem.

Enma Ai from Jigoku Shoujo (Girl from Hell)

Enma Ai from Jigoku Shoujo (Girl from Hell)

Enma Ai: Another school girl outfit. The top is a little bit different so you’ll need to get it custom made if you can’t find like it. For the “scarf”, just get a red cloth and use the cloth for the cuffs as the binder. The skirt is just a basic black pleated skirt so I think that’s easy to find. As would the knee high socks and the pair of Mary Jane’s or loafers. Enma’s hair is like Hinata’s so if I go for Enma, I can try cosplaying Hinata next (or vice versa). The eyes would be a problem again since you’ll have to look for red contact lenses to match hers.

I want to cosplay as Hinata first but I need to find a seamstress where I can get my costume made for a relatively cheap price. If you know of some place (preferably near or in the Pasig and Mandaluyong area), share please? I would really love to be able to cosplay in time for Halloween.

How about you dear readers? What do you want to be on Halloween? Share your thoughts. I’d love to hear them. 🙂

♥ Eceined

Leave a Reply

