Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson and the Olympians

Percy Jackson and the Olympians

I picked the complete set of Percy Jackson and the Olympians as one of my wishlist items last Christmas. I was very happy to find out that my parents were very interested in it after they saw the trailer for the upcoming movie (The Lightning Thief) because it meant the chances of them buying me the books became greater. Well, they did want to buy the books. The problem? Apparently, the movie made the books popular and caused the books to be sold out in all the local bookstores. But I’m grateful that my parents are going to buy the complete set (actually, we were already able to buy the 1st, 3rd, and 4th books) because I’ll have a copy of the books. Because of the current fame of the books, and because of how great the books are, I thought I’d take this time to create an entry to recommend it to everyone.

For those who don’t know about the series, it is a series written by Rick Riordan where

The gods of Olympus are alive and well in the 21st Century! They still fall in love with mortals and have children who are half-god, half-human, like the heroes of the old Greek myths. Could you be one of those children? Join the adventures of Percy Jackson and his modern demigod friends as they fight mythological monsters and the forces of the titan lord Kronos.

Source: http://www.rickriordan.com/index.php/books-for-children/

There are five books in the series (along with a number of accompanying books to supplement the series) and it’s a wonderful series for children and for the young-at-heart. For those who love fantasy stories and especially those who have always been fascinated by Greek mythology (like me) this is a great series to read. I find it a quick read (but that’s because I read kind of fast) but it’s very entertaining.

2 thoughts on “Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

