The Sorceress by Michael Scott

The Sorceress by Michael Scott

Currently Reading: The Sorceress by Michael Scott

The third book Michael Scott’s The Secrets of the Immortal Nicolas Flamel series is the Sorceress which picks up where the last book, The Magician, left off. The series is about the famous alchemist Nicolas Flamel and his wife Perenelle, guardians of the codex of Abraham the Mage and seekers of the twins of legend. In comes Sophie and Josh Newman who turn out to be the twins of legend and are now being hunted, along with the codex of Abraham the mage by Dr. John Dee, Flamel’s former student who now works for the Dark Elders. The Dark Elders need the twins of legend and the codex of Abraham the Mage to return from the Shadowrealm and reclaim their power over the Earth.

Here is a short introduction to The Sorceress and found on Michael Scott’s official website (and as found on the inside sleeve of the hardbound book):

Nicholas Flamel’s heart almost broke as he watched his beloved Paris crumble before him. The city was destroyed by Dee and Machiavelli, but Flamel played his own role in the destruction. Sophie and Josh Newman show every sign of being the twins of prophecy, and Flamel had to protect them and the pages from the Dark Elders.

But Nicholas grows weaker with each passing day. Perenelle is still trapped in Alcatraz, and now that Scatty has gone missing, the group is without protection. Except for Clarent-the twin sword to Excalibur. But Clarent’s power is unthinkable, its evil making it nearly impossible to use without its darkness seeping into the soul of whoever wields it.

If he hopes to defeat Dee, Nicholas must find an Elder who can teach Josh and Sophie the third elemental magic-Water Magic. The problem? The only one who can do that is Gilgamesh, and he is quite, quite insane.

I haven’t finished reading the book, in fact, I’m just on the fifth chapter, but I’ve loved the last two books, The Alchemyst and The Magician. I’ve always been an avid reader of fantasy books and I really would recommend this series to those ages 10 and above. The series contains a number of references to different folklore and is a great way to learn more about different myths and legends. The series is composed of six books and the fourth one is set to be released sometime this year.

Hope you have fun reading if you do decide to try and pick up the book. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s